Tuesday, July 22, 2008

2008 Prometheus Awards announced

The Libertarian Futurist Society has released the names of this year’s winners of the Prometheus Awards — two full weeks before their presentation at Denvention 3, the 66th World Science Fiction Convention in Denver (August 6-10).

The Best Novel award will go to two novels this year, marking the first time in the award’s 29-year history that there was a tie in the voting. Both novels are alternative histories and sequels: Harry Turtledove’s The Gladiator and Jo Walton’s Ha’penny.

A Clockwork Orange, by Anthony Burgess, is winner of the 2008 Hall of Fame award.

The Prometheus Award, says the LFS, "is given each year to sci-fi/fantasy that explores the possibilities of a free future, champions human rights, dramatizes the perennial conflict between individuals and coercive governments, or critiques the tragic consequences of abuse of power."

Labels: , ,


At 7:43 PM, Blogger Anders Monsen said...

While Turtledove's book may be a sequel, it reads fine as a stand-along novel. It's a good book, but I am surprised it tied with Jo Walton's novel.


Post a Comment

<< Home